Rejoice in Your Salvation

See, what a morning, gloriously bright,
With the dawning of hope in Jerusalem;
Folded the grave-clothes, tomb filled with light,
As the angels announce, “Christ is risen!”
See God’s salvation plan,
Wrought in love, borne in pain, paid in sacrifice,
Fulfilled in Christ, the Man,
For He lives: Christ is risen from the dead!

(from “See What a Morning” by Keith Getty and Stuart Townend)

I think I love this day even more than Christmas.

Of course, the two go hand in hand. Without one, you wouldn’t have the other. But today! Today, my friends, is the day we celebrate the Resurrection of Jesus! You can usually find me laughing and being unusually joyful on this day.

What sobers me is the little question: Why aren’t I always this cheerful?

This real, true, and glorious hope is not only true on Easter weekend. It’s true all the time. And sadly, I too often forget. I forget that this is the reason I’m still alive. This is the reason I’m not destined for hell. This is the reason I can look forward to having a new body without any problems, and a new brain with perfect memory (which I most definitely need). This is the reason I can sing in the midst of a broken world. This is the reason I can approach the Lord through prayer without being fried in my sin.

The biggest wake-up call in this regard occurred a couple months ago. I was having one of those wretched super-early mornings that nobody looks back fondly on. In the middle of my complaining, someone very dear to me said gently, “Well, let’s see what happens. And let us rejoice in our salvation, right?” I uttered a non-committal, “Yeah,” but those words have stuck with me ever since, on every bad day (though in reality, they’re all just days where things don’t go my way) that has occurred since that rough morning.

Today we celebrate a glorious morning, and it’s yet another reminder to me that every morning is a glorious morning. Every morning is glorious because my Redeemer lives. He didn’t stay dead. If He were still dead, I’m wasting a LOT of time. But He is alive! And I am made alive in Him.

So may we never lose our wonder of Jesus, and may we always rejoice in our salvation.

Christ is risen!

One thought on “Rejoice in Your Salvation

Leave a Reply

