It is Well With My Soul

It is well with my soul.

The words to this beautiful song nearly always move me to tears when I sing them. In the midst of this broken world, going up in flames around us, it is so easy to lose hope. It is so easy to lose sight of our Rock and our Redeemer. It is so easy to think we are alone out there, worrying, faking it, trying, falling, and whatever else.

But Jesus is real. And He is Lord.

Consider this with me for a moment. If the world is burning, are we going to burn with it, or are we lit with a different fire? Are we driven by earthly comfort, or a greater hope yet unseen? Are we living to achieve temporary gain, or are we living for what is eternal? Are we fueled by hatred and our own pride, or are we loving because we have first been loved, in ways we will never fully comprehend?

Yesterday I heard a very powerful sermon about the importance of living our lives for God’s glory. We’ve been saved through Christ’s death, an expression of undying love, so we can have the glorious honors of 1) living our lives to continue Jesus’ own mission on earth, and all the while 2) looking forward to the day we get to spend eternity with our wonderful Savior. Let’s not waste this life we’ve been given! Our life came at the cost of Jesus’ own; He took the worst bullet imaginable for us, and then some. Let’s never get tired of telling the story of how He saved our souls from eternal torture.

Jesus is the reason I can say it is well with my soul, even when I’m tired, even when I’m falling apart, even when the world never seems to get better. He is my anchor, my security in the most deadly storms. Because I know that in Him, I am more alive than I can ever be otherwise, and nothing can tear me from His love.

Soli Deo Gloria.

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing to the glory that I shall to be revealed to us. (Romans 8:18)

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38-39)

Leave a Reply

